It’s Monday! (Well, not quite.) What are you reading?

Hello. How’re you? I feel like I’m tardy to the party as this post has been a work in progress since yesterday. I usually prep mine on Sunday but I don’t know what happened that day as I was pooped out and could hardly function. I ended up crawling back into bed to read and then to nap which recharged my battery.

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

I’m linking up with Kathryn today for today’s book post. But before I get into that, I just wanted to say thank you for your supporting cheers for my Ravellenics beanie. Sorry I screwed up the name when Renee brought it to my attention as it’s Ravellenics or Ravellenic Games, not Ravellentics. I have no idea where that “t” came from. I’ve made the necessary corrections.

Also, I smiled at the admiration Venetian Brass & Steam got from ya’ll. I’m proud to give that to my BFF. I’m so glad I had that colorway in my stash. I think I need to get a skein of Pashmina for myself now, don’t cha think? ;O)

So, how was your reading week? Have you read the articles about the studies done on reading and longevity? Yale scientists say if you read at least a half an hour a day, you can live longer by at least two years. Here’s one of the articles.

I am catching up in this post. I don’t know where time went last week. Many of you have been reading Linda Lael Miller. I know her name and I’ve probably read titles of hers in the way past, but I can’t remember them exactly.

Carson

I found this book while perusing the New Fiction section before we had finished one library trip. I use Goodreads to look up books. I was pleased to find out this is a new one and the first book. I so don’t like jumping into the middle of a series.

I gave Once a Rancher four stars. I enjoyed this book and read it in two days. I like a strong male character who is a good role model and who can give insight into the workings of a male mind. I love loud, noisy families who have members who are unique in his own ways. I love a good, smart mama also who knows how to keep her boys in check. Having children as part of the story is another bonus for me especially when they’re captured well.

I think horses are a special animals although honestly I’m scared to ride one. A tangent here: When I was in elementary school, my uncle’s sister used to take my cousin and I to Lake Tahoe. We girls would go off horseback riding with a guide. My horse decided that day that she had to eat this little clump of greens on a mini ledge slightly down from the main trail. So you can imagine the view I got of “down.” Freaked me out. Aside from my personal experience, I don’t mind horses in storylines or in a movie. I look forward to the next installment of this series.

I was on a pretty good hold list for this eBook. You know I loved Mary Kay Andrews’s Hissy Fit and my mum fell in love with this author’s work after we had given her that book for her birthday last year. So you can imagine how excited I was to finally have my turn at this read.

*sighs* Unfortunately, The Weekenders didn’t do it for me. There’s a background mystery in this plot that seems awkward. This wasn’t a cozy and it sure didn’t have the flair of one. It’s a chick lit-romance. I don’t know; I just wasn’t impressed but made myself finish it in a marathon of reading just so I could move on. Two stars.

Fifteen discs, each over an hour. I had to renew this CD audiobook the maximum of two times. That’s nine weeks this stayed in my home.

I was curious about Jane Eyre because a knitting podcaster who I used to watch was enamored of the movie version. She likes gothic like things and even found fabric to make a dress that reminded her of it. So I had gotten curious about this classic.

I was happy to find the CD audio version in my library’s database. The narrator, Nadia May, does a splendid job of handling different voices.

I enjoyed Jane’s strong mind and constitution. The conversational banter between her and Mr. Rochester was like fun flirtation. The snobby side of societal women was interesting enough that I wanted to smack one or more women upside the head. I also felt glad to not be of that class nor a woman during that time where it was all about looking good and marrying into money to make the right connections. I have to admit I did like how a bit of handcrafting and music were part of a lady’s life. And yes I was reminded of new adult love where in young adulthood one tends to love with abandon. It made me laugh with Mr. Rochester’s pet names for Jane. They were trippy and almost like a Victorian way of dirty talk, LOL! He did get on my nerves at times in the beginning and in the middle. Overall, Jane did impress me with her courageous side. It made me think how she was so much braver than I am; to imagine how she was an orphan, treated badly, and sent away. The fact that this young woman found a position on her own in a stranger’s home where who knows what could happen to her and then she leaves in the middle of the night at another point surviving the best she can. And what a gothic ending. Three stars.

logan

Logan (Montana Creeds #1) was a requested library book. I had liked the other cowboy book of Miller’s so much I wanted to try another series. I wasn’t disappointed. This is an older work of the author’s but I always root for a struggling, single mum and like I said above, having kids in a plot is a bonus. I enjoyed the blended family concept in this book, reminding me there are all kinds of situations out there in the world. The two boys of Briana made me smile with their constant, love/hate relationship and name-calling. I liked Logan’s change of heart to where his life was heading and his natural instincts to protect. Would you believe I read this book in five hours? I am definitely reading on in this series; in fact, the second one is ready for me to pick up. Four stars.

Well I hope you’re having a good week so far. I hope you make some time for the written word and have an intriguing stack on your nightstand as I do mine. TTYL.

Currently Reading:

  • Knitlandia: A Knitter Sees the World by Clara Parkes
  • Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye
  • Rereading the Bridgerton series so I can refresh my brain and get up to the fourth which is what I didn’t have. (#1&2 read)
  • Need to start listening to Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
6 thoughts on “It’s Monday! (Well, not quite.) What are you reading?

  1. Wow you have been into the books. I enjoy Linda Lael Miller every so often, like you I am nervous of horses but enjoy any kind of an animal in a book. They are all at a nice safe distance. Pity about the Mary Kay Andrews book, I’ve enjoyed some of hers but from your thoughts I might be of the same opinion on the one you’ve just read.

    Like

  2. I’ve never read Jane Eyre! Can you imagine?
    I read Jen Hatmakers book FOR THE LOVE. I loved it. She is real and warm and not preachy.
    Im reading blogs of course

    Like

  3. I finished the Hunger Games trilogy (again) and started the Harry Potter series (again)…and then I plan to read The Cursed Child. We’ll see how long that takes. It shouldn’t take that long but with the interruption of Ravellenics, I’ve not been reading.

    Also, I bought a bunch of books that need reading…Doctor Who things, Neil Gaiman, and Stephen King’s “On Writing,” among other things…….

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

