Belated but Done

One hundred and nineteen days or 17 weeks. This is how long Mel’s 40th birthday shawl was on the needles.

You were teased last week with its Eucalan soak. Wait no more as I present to you, pictures by Jellybean, *drum roll*

( ╹◡╹)っー’・*:.。. .。.:*・゜゚・*Venetian Brass & Steam!

IMG_5670

The wingspan is 45.5″ wide.

From the middle down to its triangle tip, it measures 17.75″ long.

IMG_5672

The traditional way.

The hipster way.

IMG_5669

The color is more saturated in person. I’ve always had a hard time capturing this Venetian colorway. It’s a discontinued color.

Pattern Used: The Age of Brass and Steam Kerchief by Orange Flower Yarn

Yarn: Madelinetosh Pashmina

Modifications: The yarn is one weight down from the recommended one. I used a smaller needle. Four panels of stockinette were knitted instead of three.

Would I knit this pattern again? It’s a simple one for everyone. If I were to make one again, I would use heavier yarn. I honestly got impatient trying to finish this gift in this weight and with size 3 (3.25 mm) needles.

I plan to create a card and wrap it all up in a bubble mailer this weekend before sending it off by Wednesday.

Thank you for dropping by today. I love your visits and have had fun reading your reactions the past, few posts. Off to update my Ravelry project page. Toot-a-loo!

17 thoughts on “Belated but Done

  1. Very pretty! I’ve made that pattern before and it was a lot of fun. I actually wore it to my meetup knitting group today, as it wasn’t a million degrees outside 🙂 I cannot imagine doing it on size 3 needles though.

    Like

  2. Okay I love the color of that shawl!
    Madelinetosh is just the best isn’t it? Expensive but so wool worthy.
    I’m not big on anything that points at my butt, however, your shawl is too beautiful and I dont care about the point.

    Like

  3. So beautiful! I love the wide wingspan, but the fairly shallow triangle part, it does look very wearable. You picked a great colour, too!

    Like

  4. Pingback: It’s Monday! (Well, not quite.) What are you reading? | Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

