It’s Monday! What are you reading?

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

Today’s post links up with Kathryn today.

BTW, are you keeping track of where you’re reading? I don’t think Shelia of Book Journey is continuing this but I decided to continue on my own. Recently, I updated my WHERE Are You Reading Challenge 2016 page (the link (in the right corner of the blog). Originally for 2015, I listed states and countries, listing the book titles next to them. I had nothing listed for 2016 for half of the year, but I finally learned how to create a map of the settings of each book I’ve read so far. If a setting was fictional, I just plotted its marker in the middle of the state or country. If there was no mentioned setting, I used the author’s hometown. You can enlarge the map from the far, right side icon that looks like a frame. When you click upon a red marker, a book title will pop up. It was fun to do. If you want to create one and need help, let me know.

 

This past week, I’ve been making a conscious effort to finish up my library books. I know I was on the waiting lists for two of these so I assumed there are still people waiting for their turn which made me want to make sure I completed these reads.

apollo

If you read my book post from two weeks ago, you know I was disappointed with the first of the new, Magnus Chase series. Knowing I had another of his new books on my nightstand almost had me returning it unread. However, I decided to give The Hidden Oracle (The Trials of Apollo #1) a chance.

Can I tell you from page one I was smiling? It felt good to be immersed in the Greek world and to encounter familiar faces. The mighty and cocky Apollo pissed off Zeus and is thus transformed into a teenage, human boy. It was an entertaining change to see him walk a mile in different shoes so to speak. His journey is an enlightening and humbling one. Three stars from me.

ladymidnight

I had taken a 15 month break from the Shadowhunter world. Seeing this Lady Midnight cover made me want to read it. I requested the Kindle version and was on the wait list for some time.

I was happy to take a step back into their world of combat training, the welding of sharp steel, and carving bodily runes to heal or to enhance battle prowess. This new series focuses on the Los Angeles Institute, bringing in orphans from the last war of The Mortal Instruments series, the Blackthorns and Emma Carstairs, while introducing new characters. I definitely enjoyed getting to know them better. There is a star-crossed lovers element which reflects how the love between two people make ancient Shadowhunter law seem antiquated. Three stars from me as this was a good start to another series; I’m definitely curious about what will happen next.

dutydea

I have been interested in trying the duo behind Charles Todd’s works. For a change of pace, I picked A Duty to the Dead (Bess Crawford #1).

The plot takes its time to develop. You know what Bess’s mission is but what is the mystery? Adding more to the storyline comes like waiting for each layer of jello to fully chill and firm before another color is added. Each time I had internal questions. I could pretty much guess who was not the bad guy but I couldn’t quite place who was although one person seemed the obvious culprit. I have to admit I warred a teeny bit on whether or not to add this book to the DNF but I made myself read to the end because I wanted to know who did it. Two stars, I’m afraid.

Still Reading: 

  • What I Told My Daughter: Lessons from Leaders on Raising the Next Generation of Empowered Women by Nina Tassler
  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte 

How was your reading week?

10 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. That’s too bad about the Charles Todd. I’ve read another series by him and enjoyed it but haven’t tried Bess Crawford though I’m pretty sure I have a copy of this one somewhere. That is good about the Rick Riordan! I love when I reconnect with an author I’ve always enjoyed after a disappointment or two!

    Like

  2. I keep meaning to start Cassandra Clare’s series and even have the first 4 on my TBR mountain but I want to finish some other series before I begin a new one. Come see my reading week here. Happy reading!

    Like

  3. While I am not doing the challenge I started a map at the beginning of the year but sadly after about 4 months I stopped because of the extra work of it, but it is great to look at where you have been reading.

    Like

  4. I haven’t read the new Riordan book although I wanted to. I’m new to his books and thought I’d start with the new Norse mythology one rather than go back and play catch up- but I still have to get to it. And I love that cover of Lady Midnight- haven’t read those either but heard good things.

    Like

  5. I read a few of the Shadowhunters series, although I didn’t keep up. I loved the other series though, The Infernal Devices. I am glad you enjoyed your foray back into the series, and into the world of Greek mythology again too. It’s always nice to return to something familiar and loved.

    Like

  6. I bought a few books but I’ve not really had time to read lately…preferring to spin, really. Buuut, I picked up a Doctor Who Fairy Tales book, On Writing by Stephen King, and at least one more book that is escaping me right now…..someday, I’ll get around to reading.

    Like

  7. ohh I just finished Dark Places by Gillian Flynn. Did you read Gone Girl? Love the twists in her books! My next book is going to be Drive by Daniel Pink. It is about finding personal motivation. Can’t wait!

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

