Summer Holiday

Hello. TGIF! As mentioned back in this post, our crew had a chance to go on holiday this summer. Our crew actually split up:

The keiki flew off to Oahu with their grandparents:

IMG_1417

and the husband and I visited Seattle for a couple of days.

Healthy seafood filled our bellies:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thursday was our first full day there and lots of power walking:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

E and I got in 14K steps. I purposely bought those Madden Girl like Birkenstocks because I thought it would be hot in Seattle. These shoes were perfect for my high arches.

Pike’s Place Market: I never knew there were multiple levels of shops underneath. I had fun exploring and mawing merchandise.

Seattle Great Wheel: I didn’t know it was enclosed; what a relief. Each car is standard and nice inside. It moves slowly and the whole apparatus rotates three times.

S.A.M.: I haven’t stepped inside a modern art museum for years. This place is extensive. There was beautiful glass. I marveled at how ancient civilizations lived, how they went the extra mile for uniquely carved items. That painting of course resonated with me as I’m a mum of two daughters. And E found the wooly sculpture first, pointing it out to me.

The next day was more laidback. The day before E and I realized we didn’t really need a rental car, but I’m so glad we did because guess who I got to meet?!

I met Kim of Page After Page. (❛ัॢᵕ❛ั ॢ)✩*ೃ.⋆ We met up in Tukwila at a Starbucks and as soon as she touched my shoulder, the two of us gabbed away. Can I tell you what a sweetie she is besides being fun and eloquent? Kim is genuine and I believe we covered everything from family to knitting, etc.

Thank you, Kim, for making time to meet me.

years of following

a door opens for us two

grins, laughs forever

2016-07-01 12.19.57

When E and I got back to Seattle, we walked back down to the market to shop for souvenirs. Of course I had to check out the yarn store conveniently located near by. This is So Much Yarn:

2016-07-01 16.17.51

I didn’t walk around too much inside because by then the two of us were hungry. I already knew I was going to buy sock yarn. One of the staff nicely approached me and I asked her what did she  have that was local? You already saw from the last podcast the skein I had bought.

Thank you, Seattle, for hosting us in your Emerald City. I hope to come back some day and explore more of your evergreen forests with the kids besides (。•̀ᴗ-)✧ hit up those yarn stores I didn’t get a chance to visit. Until then, good-bye.

 

12 thoughts on “Summer Holiday

  1. I am jealous. I was there last year and didn’t have tine to visit but one tint yarn shop. I didnt even have time to try and meet Kim. I think she is great. Next time I go to Seattle, I hope it won’t be a family emergency.

    Like

  2. I love that picture of your girls! They look like they’re having such a good time. That yarn store is gorgeous. I don’t even knit but I would have probably spent a fortune in there! Seattle sounds like such a lovely city to visit. I’ve never been but I hope to someday soon. My husband travels there a good bit for work and one day I might have to hitch a ride with him!

    Like

  3. What a lovely holiday! So nice to have some one-on-one time with your other half as well. I think my hunger pangs would have been forgotten the moment I saw that yarn store…

    Like

  4. lovely photo of you and Kim!!! both beautiful ladies 🙂 Sounds like you had a fun restive time 🙂 Love the yarn shop and next time have a granola bar or two so you can dive deeply into an emergency yarn shop experience!!

    (btw – the comment area does not show unless I push a little wee button on the right…then it shows up)

    Like

  5. Looks like it was a really fun trip, and so nice to do something a little different in the summer!

    Like

  6. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you reading? | Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

