YOP1617

*bops head to The Ultimate Box Set of Hidden Beach Recordings Presents: UNWRAPPED*

On Ravelry – a FB like site that is free for those who knit, crochet, spin yarn, dye yarn, or weave yarn – has a group called Year of Projects located here. YOP1617 or Year of Projects 2016-2017 has just started, yesterday the 3rd.

yop_yr_6_banner_futuristic

I’m only getting to my post today since yesterday I had to catch up on the 95+ posts I didn’t have time to read while on holiday. If you follow me on IG, you’ll know what I’m talking about. Don’t worry, that’ll be another post for another day.

I haven’t participated in this meme for I guess two years now. I’m going back to basics and will explain in the next podcast that should happen later on this week.

YOP’s first post is all about the list. Earlier this 2016, I published a post on my knitting bucket list. How’s that coming along, Stef? Uh, it’s gone to sh*t. Nothing has been freakin’ accomplished. Idlewood has been idle for weeks since my dye lot, Homer Simpson moment. This is why I’m jumping back into the Year of Projects pool. I want some knits for me, damn it.

JUMPERS

  1. Finish Cecily Glowik MacDonald’s Idlewood
  2. Knit a good, ol’ standard jumper for myself: Brick by Clare Lee and maybe have some kind of stripe detail somewhere and/or lace
  3. A much, wanted must – a stranded, colorwork yoke jumper: Either First Fair Isle by yu co or Lysa by Hilary Smith Callis

NECKWEAR

  1. I love this book of patterns: Primrose Ascot by Pam Powers
  2. I drool over this every time Jen flashes it on her blog + I love feather and fan; it’s so classic: Altitude Cowls ~ Lace by Jenjoyce Designs
  3. This is hella cool and has been branded into my brain besides making me think of Julie Kagawa’s TalonDragon Wing Cowl by Jessie Rayot
  4. I do love to accessorize with scarves when it’s cold and am getting bored with what I have: Color Tipped Scarf by Purl Soho

SOCKS

  1. I covet this pattern every time someone posts about it: Blueberry Waffle Socks by Sandy Turner
  2. Love the texture of this pattern: I Heart Bees by Vanessa Townley
  3. I’ve owned this eBook for ages; it’s time I knitted something from it: Isle Esme Socks by Rachel Coopey

TOPS

  1. Totally envious when Kat Riddell showed off hers on her blog: From Another Place Crop Top by Leah Coccari-Swift
  2. Allyson flashed this many times on IG; loved her in it and I like how it looks great on any body type: Fire Opal Tee by Allyson Dykhuizen

I know this list is ambitious, especially since I’m knitting *sighs* five pairs of socks for Christmas gifts. I don’t expect to get through everything, but I hope to at least knock out one to two patterns from each section.

Are you in?

16 thoughts on “YOP1617

  1. It’s so good to see you back and with a fabulous list – let’s get lots done for you! I also see you have a YouTube channel so I’m off to visit!

    Like

  2. I am always fascinated with everyone’s YOP lists…Yours is lovely. I had a gift list that inspired me to learn how to knit faster lol. I don’t think I knit faster but much more fluid. I think five pairs of socks is quite ambitious!

    Like

  3. Welcome back! I think knitting for yourself is a great idea! I added the raglan sweater to my faves – I love the simplicity of it! I also love the raspberry red of the sample.

    Can’t wait for pretty knitting pictures 🙂

    Like

  4. Welcome back! I love that your back in the yop loop and just because you may not knit everything on the list doesn’t mean you can’t have a good year and make great progress in all the areas. I love that you’ve concentrated on you also. I’ve already favourited Lysa and will check it out more as an item for my garment rail section. Looking forward to seeing what this yop year brings for you.

    Like

  5. Looking forward to seeing all your beautiful creations this upcoming Yop year, and getting to know you via your podcasts! 🙂

    Like

  6. Hooray! You are back to the YOP group too–which you know, is how we “met” 🙂 Blueberry Waffle Socks and I Heart Bees are patterns I want to give a whirl this year too, but still need to nail down the basics to fit me like I would like them too. I am very confident you can make this list work for you-and you will end up with some lovely things, just for you! I love that color tip scarf especially. Have a super week …
    xoxoxo

    Like

  7. Yay!!!! You’re back! So happy and I love your list. I find that this group really motivates me and I used to love your projects and yarns! I can’t wait to see your projects in progress…especially now that I figured out how to comment on your blog! LOL!

    Like

  8. Gosh, that’s an excellent list of patterns! I was eyeing the Dragon Wing Cowl just the other day. Would love to make one in a variegated deep green/blue color. Thanks for the link to YOP. It sounds like a fun way to keep on-task and motivated.

    Like

  9. Pingback: Summer Holiday | Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

