It’s Monday! What are you reading?

*still listening to Unwrapped by Hidden Beach Recordings*

Hey ヾ(๑╹ꇴ◠๑)ノ” there! Yep, double post today since I’ve caught up on blogs and we’re having a lazy Fourth of July. Our crew is holed up in our house cave away from the 85° heat. You know what I’m doing; the husband is studying for his final; the tween’s got her bedroom door closed as usual and is listening to her music while playing and reading at the same time; and the little one alternates between hanging out with me or playing or reading in her room.

Linking up with Kathryn for It's Monday! What Are You Reading.

Before I talk about what books I’ve finished lately, I thought I’d see how I was doing in the reading challenges I’ve signed up for this year:

I. Print

A. Status Goal: Weekend Warrior (5-10)

i. Where I’m at: 3

II. foodiesreadbutton

A. Status Goal: Short-Order Cook (1-3)

i. Where I’m at: 1 ((๑˃̵ᴗ˂̵)و PAU)

III. ebook16

A. Status Goal: Gigabytes (50)

i. Where I’m at: 14

IV. GoodReads 2016 Reading Challenge

A. Status Goal: 101 books

i. Where I’m at: 32

Well, not so bad, yeah? I guess I can check off the Foodies Read challenge for now. I know I’m sadly behind this year in reading in general as knitting has taken over with my ambitious determination to knit five pairs of adult socks besides adding card-making and sewing to my list of hobbies.

Alrighty, let’s get down to business:

magnuschase

I recently finished this eBook, Magnus Chase and the GODS of ASGARD by Rick Riordan. I was so excited to read this one and learn about Norse mythology. However, I just didn’t get excited while immersed in the book. I had to remind myself sometimes that this was not Greek mythology and so there are different characters and different ways of doing things. There were snarky chapter titles and I guess teenage sarcasm from Magnus but I wasn’t grabbed from the gecko like the Percy Jackson series had done for me. Some exciting moments were present in places but sorry to say, I won’t be continuing this series. Two stars.

booked

This cozy mystery is a simple read I enjoyed. I was intrigued by it because it involved a bookstore. In my last podcast, I mentioned how this black cat named Hamlet is a character that doesn’t play around. The opening scene had me crackin’ up. I have to admit that I didn’t quite see how Hamlet was helpful in the mystery but I’ll be continuing on in the series to see how it develops. Three stars.

Currently Listening to or Reading:

  1. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë – 3 CDs down, 12 to go but enjoying this classic.
  2. A Duty to the Dead by Charles Todd – Trying this duo out for the first time and liking what I’ve read so far; still need to get into the meat of the mystery.
  3. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare – Thumbs up so far! After taking a long break from the Shadowhunters I love being immersed in their world again.
  4. The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan – I know, another one of his? Hey, my holds just came in that way. But from page one, I started smiling. I missed my Greek mythology.
  5. What I Taught My Daughter: Lessons from Leaders on Raising the Next Generation of Empowered Women by Nina Tassler – I keep forgetting to pick this one back up; it’s good though and many bits and pieces resonate with me as I’m mum to two daughters.
  6. David Copperfield by Charles Dickens; I’m having a hard time going back to this audiobook. Should I make myself continue because it’ll be good for me to “read” more classics?

Okay, I have room temperature butter and eggs that need to get baked off. Gonna try a new recipe – Soft Double Chocolate Brownie Cookies – that I spotted on Pinterest this morning. Cross your fingers for me that they’ll come out.

TTYL!

14 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. I’m glad you’re reading Jane Eyre! I loved it! I’m currently reading a collection of Agatha Christie stories and just finished listening to the second in the Outlander series.

    Like

      • I hadn’t really read anything of hers until the last year or two. Someone recommended watching the Hercule Poirot series with David Suchet as Poirot. I did enjoy reading her books after watching the series.

        Like

  2. Stephanie
    I just finished H is for Hawk. I think I wont’ have time for reading much with the move and house search. I feel like reading competes with my knitting and right now knitting is best for me. Still, I love a good review to add a book to my SOMEDAY list

    Like

  3. Wow lady! You have a lot of books going right now…I am lucky if I can keep 2 books going at the same time. I say, ditch Copperfield–life is too short to read books you don’t like and there are plenty of other books out there that are “good for you”. 🙂 🙂
    xoxoxo

    Like

  4. Finally figured out how to comment on your blog! I could not figure it out…you have to go and click on the post again. Duh!!!! Okay, good reading and lots of it! I hope you Pinterest recipe turned out….I’ve had lots of disappointing recipes from there. I prefer All Recipes. Happy 4th!

    Like

  5. I see you’ve been kinda busy huh? LOL. I am a fan of Jane Eyre. I admit that seeing the remake of the movie with Fassbender inspired my last reread. I can’t remember David Copperfield. I say if you’re not feeling it, move on. You can always return if you feel so inspired.Great Expectations is still on my “to do” list.

    Like

  6. Some classics are eternal – I re-read Jane Eyre a couple of years ago and I re-read something by Jane Austin almost every year, but Dickens is tough. In my youth I could read and enjoy any kind of books, but now I want entertainment, life is too hard and short :))

    Like

  7. Oy those brownies sound awesome.

    We have been holed up inside around here as well – the humidity here is overwhelming. Stepping outside is like walking into a cement swampland.

    What a bummer about Magnus Chase! I love Norse mythology. I could never get into the Percy Jackson books although when I worked in the library I never had to shelve them – they would get returned and immediately checked out again. 🙂

    Like

  8. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you reading? | Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

