It’s Monday! What are you reading?

DEWEYs

Annyeong haseyo. Did you get a chance to participate this past Saturday?

Can I just tell you that I had a wonderful day of reading? I only posted in the early morn, late morning, and evening. I also stuck to my word and ignored the slew of mini challenges posts. Doing this really let me focus on the book I’ll talk about in a bit. I’m not going to answer the summary survey this year but one thing I’d like to change for me for the next #READATHON is being prepared with some good snackie snacks! Lisa of Lit and Life had this photo of her snacks for the day. Oh man was I envious. I stayed up until quarter to one in the wee hours of Sunday to finish my book.

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

Today’s Monday book post links up with Kathryn.

Queen

I remember putting The Queen of the Night by Alexander Chee on my TBR. If I find about a book before it’s officially out, my library typically doesn’t have it in its database yet. When I spotted it in the New Fiction section, I totally snatched it off the shelf. I can’t remember when was the last time I was so excited to get a book. I normally examine what’s been recently read on GR and think about what genre I should read next. Spontaneously checking out books from the library hasn’t happened for a very long time. And when I usually start a new author, I have this faint, internal doubt until I’m in the meat of the plot. With The Queen of the Night I had no internal hesitation.

I enjoyed Chee’s writing. Lilliet’s journey from 16 years of age to adulthood is an opera. It grabs your attention and holds you. You are sucked into this emotional roller coaster of survival, sex, obsession, and love. You feel like you’re watching a chess game that many of the characters take part in. History is sprinkled throughout the story as well.

I’m pleased I got a chance to read The Queen of the Night. Four stars.

13 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. I love how you made up your mind and stuck to doing what you wanted to do! One good big book is much better than finishing a few little ones!

    Like

  2. Yay for finding a new book on the library shelf, snapping it up and enjoying reading it. And the readathon was the perfect time to get stuck into it.

    Like

  3. Sounds like this book is so addictive, I’m glad you had such a great choice to read during the readathon, amazing!! Glad you had a good time participating in the challenge.

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

