Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon: Morning Post

DEWEYs

Good morning. Yes, your eyes don’t deceive you. It is 5:44 a.m. here in the California. I set my phone clock to go off at 5 a.m. which it precisely did. I quickly turned it off so I wouldn’t disturb the husband and prepared to snuggle back into bed, but I made myself get up.

Got my bathrobe on this 51° morning and made myself a cup of hot cocoa:

IMG_5381

Glad I baked some raisin, chocolate chip cookies last night to go along with it. You see my finds from the library that I talked about on Monday.

In looking back on last year’s #READATHON, I added at the end of the survey post how distracting it was to keep abreast of the challenges and such. I’m skipping them this year, I’m afraid. I just want to read and relax.

I will mini-post throughout the day so you’ll be hearing from me! Off to start first, The Queen of the Night by Alexander Chee. TTYL.

9 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon: Morning Post

  1. Good morning Stef! I just rolled out of bed. I set my alarm for 5:50 and thought I would go back to bed, but got up instead. I wanted to blog for a bit before reading as my eyes take a while to really wake up-but then had to wait for computer to restart. I still can’t decide which book to start with! Happy reading–I will check back later.
    xoxo
    PS: love the cover of your first book!

    Like

  2. I haven’t participated in a read-a-thon before, so I wasn’t quite sure how it would work. I found my inbox full of e-mails to check out, though, which I do want to read…but then I must start my pile of books! Like you, I guess I’ll do an opening post, and then attack the stack!

    Like

    • You love to read so basically, you just read all day. There are mini challenges where there are questions to answer. There are prizes for these mini challenges. Some readers donated them and are hosting them. I tried them out last year but then I spent so much time online. So I’m skipping them this year and just reading and mini-posting.

      Like

  3. Good luck! I’m seriously impressed with your dedication to start this early and I can’t wait to see what you think of Queen of the Night. It sounds amazing. I think I would try your method of just relaxing and reading as I can see how participating in the challenges would get distracting.

    Like

  4. Good for you! The cookies look yummy and that’s a pretty thick book you chose but it looks interesting….let us know! Cheering for you to not fall asleep which is what I would do! LOL!

    Like

  5. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you reading? – Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

