It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Aloha. Howz it? Fellow Americans, did you go away this three-day weekend?

Mahalo plenty for all of the thoughtful well wishes for our Big Kahuna. He is actually back to work today after having last week off. While my husband’s had a period of adjustment since his foot surgery, he is coping well and being vigilant about not putting any weight on that foot. We recently changed the dressings which made him feel betta as they were too thick for his liking and chafed against his side sutures from wearing the boot.

Despite being housebound for days, our crew has been chillaxin. The keiki have been playing outside with the neighbor in the mid-70’s sunshine. The husband got his Masters homework done. I’ve been listening to Adele’s 25 on repeat besides knitting and reading. I even had some energy to fry some organic, cremini mushrooms since we’re taking a break from elaborate dishes.

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

ebook16

maisiedobbsIt’s been wonderful to get more QT with the written word. I eventually finished off this early 1900’s mystery. Even though there were no gruesome scenes nor any flash and bang, I enjoyed the introduction into the mystery, the flashbacks to the development of Maisie’s character, and the tying up of the mystery.

Some examples are the following:

Sayings I’ve Never Heard of:

  1. “(Billy)…winking and tapping the side of his nose with his forefinger. ‘Nod’s as good as a wink to a blind ‘orse, if you know what I mean, Miss.’ [Page 9, 3%]
  2. “…’Memory Is A Golden Chain That Binds Us ‘Til We Meet Again.'” [Pages 22-23, 8%]

Things Maisie Learned from Her Mentor:

  1. “‘The extraordinary hides behind the camouflage of the ordinary. Assume nothing, Maisie.'” [Pages 11-12, 4%]
  2. Maisie looked at the woman, whose grip had relaxed as she told Vincent’s story. Celia was exhausted. Maurice had counseled her, in the early days of her apprenticeship, when she was silent observer as he listened to a story, gently prodding with a question, a comment, a sigh, or a smile, ‘The story takes up space as a knot in a piece of wood. If the knot is removed, a hole remains. We must ask ourselves, how will this hole that we have opened be filled? The hole, Maisie, is our responsibility.’ [Page 40, 14%]

  3. “‘Allow grief room to air itself,’ Maurice had taught her. ‘Be judicious in using the body to comfort another, for you may extinguish the freedom that the person feels to be able to share a sadness.'” [Page 58, 20%]

HP6

This sixth Harry Potter installment is finally finished. Many of you have read it so I’ll just point out a few quotes that set the tone of it:

(Dumbledore speaking) “‘And now, Harry, let us step out into the night and pursue the flighty temptress, adventure.'” [Loc 782, 9%]

“Harry was left to ponder in silence the depths to which girls would sink to get revenge.” [Loc 4011, 47%]

JQ

So I knew before I had finished the two books above that I’d be in the mood to read some middle grade/young adult fiction. In my mind the titles, The Black Circle (The 39 Clues #5) by Patrick Carman and Uncommon Criminals (Heist Society #2) by Ally Carter, popped up inside. However, I had to put a hold on the first eBook and request the second one. While waiting I grabbed the third installment of the Bridgerton series from my nightstand.

I read it in less than two days! I loved it so much that toward the end I stayed up past midnight to finish it. The way the plot is laid out is vaguely similar to the fairy tale of Cinderella but it’s different at the same time. The dialogue between the couple is fun to follow. There is strength in both of them but vulnerability at the same time. The banter between members of the Bridgerton family entertained me as usual. This is the best one (five stars) in this series so far. Unfortunately, I don’t have the next book so I’ll have to hunt it down first.

Right now I don’t have a book to read as I need to pick up the hard copy of Uncommon Criminals at the library. That’s okay as I need to finish up knitting my cowl that will be shown off this Friday.

Before I sign off…what the keiki are reading:

8-year-old, Princess Jellybean: Lucy (The Puppy Place #27) by Ellen Miles. She has been getting her hands on any of this series that the library owns because (in her own words) “I like reading about the doggies.”

Tween Princess Cupcake: A Year in the Life of a Complete and Total Genius by Stacey Matson, a book written in letters, emails, and journal entries, something she is enjoying.

Happy reading to you. Aloha.

21 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. Glad to hear your husband is healing well 🙂
    As for my reading, after finishing “If I fall, I die” everything else has failed to satisfy. I’ve STARTED half a dozen books without getting past the second or third chapter. I think I need some sort of palate cleanser so that I stop holding up everything new to impossibly high standards!

    Like

  2. Sounds as though with all that was going on…you still had a great week. I didn’t love Maisie Dobbs when I first read one of the books in this series but I have grown to love her!

    Like

  3. Nice assortment of books. I’ve read the first dozen or so in the 39 Clues. I have also read Heist Society and Uncommon Criminals but I still have Perfect Scoundrels on my stack. I enjoyed all of the Bridgerton series too. Here’s my week. Happy reading!

    Like

  4. Sounds like you have had some enjoyable times in spite of your hubs being sidelined a bit.

    We have had some busy days with family. It has been nice to have spent some good quality time with our kids and grands.

    Our oldest daughter is having some marital struggles so especially nice to be able to spend some quiet time with her and her two boys. Please sens good vibes her way as she struggles with some pretty big decisions.

    Like

  5. Love that you enjoyed #3 of the Bridgertons, I could probably read the whole series again as if I never read it as it is quite a few years since I read it. Still – looking forward to her new one this year.

    Like

  6. so glad the foot surgery went well and he is ambulating about. I loved all the HP books and read them twice (and I think I already said that before to you but I’m not too sure). I enjoy the 5-7 because they seem to be written to an older audience than the first few books. Not thrilled with the fourth book at all.

    I’m reading Carry On and The Song of the Lark. Both are okay so far.

    Like

  7. I was thinking that I haven’t been reading anything at all, and then I realised I’ve been doing nothing but read for the past few days! Much to my poor knitting’s horror. My reading isn’t as fun as yours – all about contemporary issues in management. It has been extremely enlightening to read research into work/life balance, particularly conclusions I’m reaching about how virtually impossible it is for a person in an executive position to achieve any work/life balance in reality, despite corporate assertions to the contrary.

    Like

  8. Yes, I’m a fan of the Maisie Dobbs, though I audiobooked the last one. I’m still trying to finish The House of Hades audiobook right now. There is no time to read at all. It’s depressing. The Kid finished The Martian and reread the first int he Sylo series, he’s just started a new book I saw on Amazon, An Ember in the Ashes. trying to keep mixing in the new with the old. 🙂 It’s what I do too!

    Like

  9. We had a relaxing 3 day weekend too. The best! Lots of knitting & eating and even an extra day off on Tuesday because of more snow/ice. Happy to hear that your hubby is continuing to heal nicely. Is there a magic potion for following dr’s orders? I can never get mine to.

    Like

  10. Oh, I’m so sorry your husband had to have surgery but glad to hear he is healing well! This is what happens when I don’t keep up with my blog reading! Shame on me! Look at you reading like the wind. I hope you are enjoying Maisie Dobbs. I just ordered the 3rd book from Thrift books. My tablet is a goner as it won’t connect to the web but to fix it I have to download a fix. Huh? How’s that supposed to happen? So, no ebooks for me. I ordered from Thrift Books and got 3 books for $11.00 and free shipping over $10.00. I’ve been meaning to read the Harry Potter books again from the beginning as I read 3 I think and then saw a few of the movies. Plus, she’s coming out with another this summer I think. Who’d a thunk it? So glad your girls are readers. My daughter is but my boys not so much. It’s funny, my daughter is a teacher and they have school (students too) on Presidents Day yet the banks, post office, even telephone company is closed. I guess it depends on your state and since you don’t get as much snow (tee hee) as they do you can afford more days off.
    I have never heard of Julia Quinn or The Bridgerton series. I’ll have to put that on my “never-ending” book list! So glad you stopped by. Take care and talk with you soon again. Love your blog!

    Like

  11. I read Maise Dobbs a long time ago, when it was first published. I remember really enjoying her character. But I’ve never had time to read any of the others. Thanks for stopping by. Good luck with your eBook Challenge!

    Like

  12. I love Maise Dobbs, but it was a slow start. is the Bridgerton series historical romance? I used to read a lot o that genre but haven’t in years. I’m kind of in the mood to begin again.

    Like

  13. Oh its great to hear your husband is recovering well and being very good about not bearing any weight on it! Chilling out definitely sounds therapeutic.

    I admire all the books you are able to read!! I am currently reading (well listening) to Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty…its pretty good from what I have listened to so far.

    Like

  14. Glad to hear he is doing well! I just finished reading Station Eleven, and it was SO good! I could barely put it down.

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

