One for the Week

Annyeong haseyo. This will probably be my one post of the week for three reasons:

  1. I set out to run a long route this morning. However, like Britney’s old song: “Oops, I did it again…”

FullSizeRender

I was focused on getting to the second light, when unknowingly I stepped on a sweet gum, spiky ball. My right ankle collapsed to the right and I lost my balance. Thankfully, I didn’t fall down hard like the first time (last August).

So I sat down and massaged my ankle, wondering how bad was it and if I should run or go home. I messaged the husband who told me to go home. I was able to walk slowly home. I wasn’t that far, only 0.7 miles away. Would you believe earlier this morning I had even slipped in the bathroom and banged the side of my right knee on the floor besides my foot?

2. I’ve been forgetting to knit my cowl and the sock. I feel with January ending, I need to get some fabric whipped out.

3. Chinese New Year looms ahead so some little tidying here and there needs to be taken care of beforehand.

All is not lost because despite today’s owies, I had a lovely weekend:

Friday Craft Night: One of my neighbors went to school with my youngest aunt. I am lucky that she thinks of our crew a lot. She invited me to the monthly Craft Night that takes place the first Friday of each month. Each person takes turn hosting. I had hosted the second Friday of January because Japanese New Year was the first Friday. S hosted this last Friday because we had conflicts for this week’s. The hostess provides a simple snack and we each work on whatever project we have going on at the moment. I bring my knitting of course.

Saturday Playdate: El is my homegirl. I was fortunate enough to have met her while our daughters were in second grade together. We also served on the PTA Board which brought us closer together. She drove down from the city with her daughter and brought along another old classmate of our kids. The three tweens had fun gabbin’ away and playing on the neighbor’s trampoline while El and I had our own hen session. I made baby back ribs slathered in a dry rub and slow-roasted in the oven. Love you, El!

Sunday Shopping: My man and I dragged the girls out to look for snow clothes. They’ll be experiencing Tahoe for the first time this winter. The tween was a bit moody and both dames didn’t look too pleased with how fashionable snow pants are. I told them it’s about being warm and dry, not chic. We found a great deal at Sports Authority where their pants were 40% off *fist pump*. The little one found pink snow boots right away but her sister had no luck. So we also went to REI. There were these well-made, multi-functioning boots so we snapped up two pairs. Wait, you might wonder. Two pairs? Didn’t Princess Jellybean already find boots? Yes, but this mama is going to return the cute, pink ones, ones that she would only wear once while this new pair she can wear during our one, 2016 snow trip and then use them for the wet winter days here. Enter the sulking. Too damn bad. But I did tell her I would try to find her a pink fleece since I need to pick up thermals for all of us this week.

Well, the tummy is rumbling so I’m off to forage for food. What’d you do over the weekend?

15 thoughts on “One for the Week

  1. I started going to a monthly craft night too! Ours is this Friday and I’m working on a snood for my friends dog. It’s like a doggie cowl that covers their ears LOL!

    Like

  2. I can’t believe you rolled your ankle again! If you’re not careful, you’re going to break it one of these times….then again, sprains are so much worse than breaks. They take longer to heal and they don’t heal stronger. ::sigh:: I’ve sprained my ankles so many times I’ve lost count. Mine don’t even swell anymore…or bruise. They just hurt like hell for weeks on end. It’s why I keep to the gym, honestly.

    With that said, this weekend was kind of blah….I know we did things not none of it was all that exciting. I think the most exciting thing we did was replace some hardware on our cabinets because in the last week, we’ve had two different cabinet doors fall off and one that needed replacing from the time it fell off last summer (I managed to jury rig it but now that the other side needed replacing, it made sense to replace both). We also got Little Man’s container garden planted in the greenhouse last week….

    And I’ve been knitting 🙂

    Like

  3. That sprain sounds horrid. I hope it heals well soon! Arnica cream is very good for bruising. Have fun in the snow! I recommend looking for pure merino wool thermals. They are so much more comfortable than those yucky plastic/synthetic ones!

    Like

  4. Oh I hope you recover quickly! Sounds like you had a lovely weekend, and pretty productive at that!! Though you have now put me in the mood to forage for food myself, this little one inside me is draining me of energy!! Snack time.

    Take care x

    Like

  5. Take care of those legs and feet! I’m sorry you fell, but you will need them for the snow! Rest up, lady!

    Other than that it sounds like a very good weekend! Friends, family, crafting and excellent deals 🙂

    Like

  6. Aww! I’m sorry for your fall! I’m still recovering from a bad one from the holidays. I fall a lot as well and have had so many sprains. Our poor ankles! I was a busy crafter this weekend and hope to crank out more this week! I wish that I was able to be apart of a craft month. We tried before and it always falls through 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh no! I am glad you were not too far from home, but sorry you hurt your ankle!

    Oh man, I remember going shopping with my mom for clothes – we probably had our biggest disagreements while shopping. Lol. I am glad that you were able to find snow pants and boots for your girls. Once they get out there they will forget about the fashion of it all and focus on the fun. 🙂

    Hope this upcoming weekend is an injury free weekend!

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

