Yes, I’m gonna say it…the “C” word.

Here goes: Christmas.

Audience, fellow knitters and crocheters are now gasping and scramble to check their calendars. Now they sigh in relief as it’s only the end of January. However, a niggling seed has been planted at the mention of Christmas crafting as the layers of their inner minds flash like a Rolodex, flipping through who needs to be knitted for this 2016 and what patterns would work.

Last December before the 24th, I decided socks will be the theme of Christmas 2016! So when the ohana came over on the eve of, I got to work on my research after presents were opened:

IMG_5214

Five adults. Left and right feet traced + foot circumferences measured.

Yes, that means five pairs of socks, two socks apiece which equals 10 full-sized socks to knit by December 24th!

After I finished up the swap contents this month, I cast on this:

IMG_5217

Yarn: Zen Yarn Garden’s Serenity 20

Content: 70% merino, 20% cashmere, 10% nylon

Color: Flamenco

Pattern: Hermione’s Everyday Socks

I thought about knitting two-at-a-time via magic loop but I didn’t want to go out and buy more needles. I do love my DPNs. So my plan is to knit a sock of each pair first to avoid second sock syndrome. Note: For those of you who are nonknitters, these size 1 needles above are only 2.25 mm in diameter.

Ambitious? Yes, but I believe. Believe with me, pls! I’m knockin’ three birds with one stone: Getting my sock fix, knitting patterns I’ve wanted to for a long time, and makin’ Christmas presents. Another  thought: Would you believe I would also be using up five skeins of sock yarn from my stash? *pats self on back* (Good job, Stef.)

What ambitious project (fiber, wood, paper, photos, house) are you workin’ on right now?

What are you up to this weekend? Playdates tomorrow for us and snow clothes shopping Sunday. Have a good one! Aloha.

13 thoughts on “Yes, I’m gonna say it…the “C” word.

  1. Sounds very do-able to me …. well, except that part about knitting one sock of each pair first because I’d totally make mods, forget to write them down and end up with non-matching second socks. But that’s just me, and I’m confident that you’re MUCH more self-disciplined than me!

    And that’s some gorgeous red yarn you got happening there!

    Like

  2. I’m such a slow knitter (with knitting ADHD) that as much as I love socks, they take me forever (months, or in some cases Dragon’sEggSocks, years). So, you can go right ahead and be ambitious. I’m going to be over here with my four pairs of socks on needles, hoping to finish something this year…..

    Like

  3. I’m very impressed at your organisational skills. Although I am of course utterly shocked at your use of the C word 😮

    Cute socks, I really must get round to knitting that pattern some day

    Like

  4. Very organised! Enjoy all the sock knitting. At least you have given yourself heaps of time so that you can always knit other things if you need a break, and still have time to finish! I think I will need to knit more men’s socks this year too. I have a brother in particular, who deserves a very big thank you pair.

    Like

  5. Oh wow! I’m pretty sure you’re setting Martha Stewart like records for planning ahead. For Christmas 2015 I took the people who I have hardest time buying gifts for, gave them a theme and took care of them first and it make my life SO much easier. I love the idea of a sock theme for Christmas!

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

