2016 Word of the Year

Aloha. Are you a maker of resolutions and/or goals? I usually am not because I know I’ll fail them. And while I generally have a mental list of this and that, they get forgotten since I tend to fly by the seat of my pants from project to project.

This year I want to make myself more accountable. Before last year ended, I read a few wonderful posts by, for example, Shelia and Bryan. They each reflected upon the word(s) that represented their 2015 and then proceeded on to talk about the word that would represent their 2016.

I did not intend to participate but while reading posts, this word popped into my head:

IMG_5144

Definition: to attempt to do or accomplish

I’ve had these mental lists of knitting and baking I’ve wanted to do for quite some time. You’ve heard me mention them before – bucket lists. So this year, I’m posting out loud these goals to kick my butt into action.

KNITTING:

#1: Harvest by Tin Can KnitsI’ve already mentioned this pattern back in November. I aimed to participate in NaKniSweMo but that didn’t happen because holiday knitting took over with all the bumps I had encountered. So I am determined to move on in this WIP as STITCHES West is in 43 days!

#2: Designing – This ambition of mine has been knocking around in my heart for ages. I have done some casual designing for gifts but not any to put myself out there as a designer. I think it’s time, yeah?

#3: Idlewood by Cecily Glowik Macdonald – I bought this pattern in January 2011. Can you believe it’s been sitting in my library for five years? I did attempt to knit this but got bored at that time. So I frogged it and used the yarn for something else.

#4: A top-down raglan sweater – I only have a Target, 100% cotton sweater and a GAP with minimal, lavender striping. I like to layer these with chambray shirts. With the Target one, I also add a statement necklace. I’ve been dying to knit myself a pullover. I might use Brick by Clare Lee. As much as I loved knitting up Flax for my niece and nephew, I want a plain sweater because I’m going to probably stripe a bit on the arms toward the cuffs.

#5: Primrose Ascot by Pam Powers – This is the scarf I had fallen in love with when Andi had featured it in her blog giveaway. Because I luckily won the free book, I so want to knit this up for myself.

#6: A stranded, color-yoked jumper – I don’t know which pattern will fulfill this goal, but I have several patterns in my bundle for future deliberation.

BAKING:

(in any order)

#1: Cream Puffs

#2: Cake – small & layered

#3: Doughnuts

#4: Marshmallows

#5: Pie from scratch

#6: Scones

#7: Shortbread Cookies – a second edition

#8: Stained Glass Sugar Cookies

#9: Sugar Cookies, iced

Do you have any crafting or cooking goals for 2016? If so, pls share.

Before I sign off, I want to throw out a quick ☆*・゜゚・*(^O^)/*・゜゚・*☆ mahalo to those of you who took the time to listen to the podcast. I personally think it’s fun to actually hear the voice of a blogging friend, yeah? And speaking of podcasts, Fred of Teaching Bites, suggested a few to E and me the last time they were all down here. I just listened to 99% Invisible’s podcast on Bone Music while doing my knitting stretches. It was a good one.

TTYL. Aloha.

31 thoughts on “2016 Word of the Year

  1. Really good goals! A few of my goals for the new year iare to boost my vaca savings account. My grands are starting to talk about Florida and Disneyand I don’t want to miss that! I need to paint my living room and dining room this year. I would like to knit a few new things this year to.

    My goals for this new year are kind of light but I am also trying to spend more of my free time with my Mom as she isn’t getting any younger and it has been on my heart and mind so it is one of the big priorities

    Like

  2. Love the word try…. I’ve had words for the last two years… flow and BRAVE, they have worked really well and gave my months some common thread. This years word has been slower coming to me, but I finally have it….I will have to blog about it soon xx

    Like

  3. This is perfect! I’ve been trying to think up a word for the year and was really struggling with it. I had thought accomplish or proactive but neither of those really quite fit. Try is brilliant! I love all of the things you want to try and am especially intrigued with your baking list. Best of luck and I can’t wait to see what you try!

    Like

  4. Heyyyy! Those are really good goals! I am not one for resolutions as you said, i like to fly by the seat of my trousers. I have some sketchy aims in my head but nothing solid. Thank you for popping on my blog recently!

    Like

  5. I knit my first raglan sweater using the Raglanify app. It’s very inexpensive and it customizes the sweater to your measurements and swatch!

    Like

  6. I don’t have any crafting or cooking goals (just learned to cook an omelette this year so that was good for me) this year, but yours look good. Personally with the cooking, though, if I were you, I’d start with the pie. Apple pie. 🙂

    Like

  7. Try is a GREAT word!! I usually fail at resolutions too. This year I wanted to send everyone I know a birthday card–I really do like snail mail, So far, so good. LOL Oh…and I LOVE the baking list too. AND, I’m going to listen to the Podcast now. Yay!

    Like

  8. I like your choice of word and your goals, Love the Idlewood pattern, very you I think. Good luck with the designing venture, looking forward to seeing what you create 🙂

    I’m going to go have a browse through those colourwork patterns you collected, some beautiful designs there 🙂

    Like

  9. Hello, hello! Now that the holidays are through maybe I’ll be a better blogger and blogger friend? I hope so! My word this year is move both in my body and my household.
    I ‘faved’ all those knitting projects….they’re great. As for designing…you go girl! I never thought of baking goals but what an awesome idea! And there are things I have wanted to bake/try but never made them a priority like you did. Next year….everything is “after I move” LOL!

    Like

  10. I’m with you and the resolutions, feeling like you’re setting yourself up for failure, but I applaud the concept of a one word theme to apply. Try is fantastic.

    Your lists look fun and doable and who knows how it will evolve through the year. I’m full of lists too. It’s comforting.

    Like

  11. Love this post and your chosen word t*r*y. You’ve got a lot of fun knitting and baking projects lined up for this year! Looking over your colorwork bundle resulted in more sweater projects to be added to my own list 🙂 Homemade marshmallows are also on my try list, especially since hot cocoa and oven-made s’mores are two of our favorite winter treats.

    Like

  12. Wow, I didn’t know you could make bundles on Ravelry! It’s been so long since I’ve looked at the site. I will be trolling your bundle for patterns to add to my list, because I’m all about stranded and yoked sweaters 🙂

    Like

  13. That is truly a most excellent word for 2016, it somehow seems so simple but is really the stuff that progress is made of- we can’t do anything if we don’t try! I love both your knitting and baking goals- I’ve made pie from scratch many times, and have yet to find a better pie crust recipe than the one on the back of the tenderflake box!

    Like

  14. Pingback: Keepin’ the Knitting Real – Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

  15. Well Stefani! I have every confidence that you will indeed be successful with your goal word for the year. You seem like such an ambitious person who is not afraid to take on a challenge. My guess is that just organizing this list is what you needed to do to get started. Unfinished things have a habit of being pushed aside for shiny new things and then forgotten altogether until we purposefully look through the corners again. I found a new found freedom this year to frog a couple of things I just wasn’t feeling anymore. Why let perfectly good yarn go to waste just sitting wadded up in a project bag somewhere? 🙂
    Happy weekend wishes to you…
    xoxoox

    Like

  16. Here’s my go to scone recipe. It is fast and simple. A great one to begin with.
    Ingredients – 3 cups self raising flour, i cup cream, i cup sprite.
    Method – Preheat oven 390F. Mix the flour, cream and sprite in a bowl until just combined. (Don’t overmix, as the scones will be hard).

    Turn out onto a floured surface, and gently pat down to a little over an inch in thickness.
    Use a 2.5 inch round cutter (or glass) to cut scones. Flour the cutter in between so the dough doesn’t stick. Gently combine and pat out the offcuts to make more.Brush the tops lightly with milk. Place almost touching on a lined or greased and lightly floured tray. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes, until they are slightly golden on top. Place on a rack to cool slightly. Delicious served split in half and still warm warm with lashings of your favorite jam or jelly, plus big dollops of gently whipped cream.

    Like

  17. Here’s my go to scone recipe. It is fast and simple. A great one to begin with.
    Ingredients – 3 cups self raising flour, i cup cream, i cup sprite.
    Method – Preheat oven 390F. Mix the flour, cream and sprite in a bowl until just combined. (Don’t overmix, as the scones will be hard).

    Turn out onto a floured surface, and gently pat down to a little over an inch in thickness.
    Use a 2.5 inch round cutter (or glass) to cut scones. Flour the cutter in between so the dough doesn’t stick. Gently combine and pat out the offcuts to make more.Brush the tops lightly with milk. Place almost touching on a lined or greased and lightly floured tray. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes, until they are slightly golden on top. Place on a rack to cool slightly. Delicious served split in half and still warm warm with lashings of your favorite jam or jelly, plus big dollops of gently whipped cream.

    Like

  18. Love having a word of the year, I might have to do this for 2016 🙂 And while I’m an avid baker, I’ve never made a pie from scratch! I really should give it a try this year, just so I can say that I made one, lol.

    Like

  19. Pingback: YOP1617 – Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

