First FO of 2016

Today’s finished object straddles last year and this year. With low temperatures since the beginning of November, Princess Jellybean’s little hands were always cold when I got her to school. She usually held my hand but switched to tucking them into her pockets for warmth while walking to hang up her backpack or standing in line for the yard bell to ring.

After a well deserved break from knitting, I dug out a skein of 220 Superwash PAINTS by Cascade Yarns to wind up. After a quick look on Ravelry, I wasn’t satisfied with what was there so I decided to try my hand at designing simple, fingerless mitts for my Boo Boo:

IMG_5141

You see no thumb gussets nor even ribbing. The thumb holes are bare, the way my daughter wanted them. I purposely knitted seed stitch in these areas so the fabric wouldn’t roll at the edges.

IMG_5142

This little one wouldn’t let me block them. The right side was already being worn in the house and she stood watch today as I bound off and wove in ends on the left.

These fingerless mitts are currently bouncing up and down with her on the neighbor’s trampoline, LOL.

Have a relaxing Sunday. I’m trying to stay off this laptop for the rest of the day so I can get some knitting done while listening to podcasts and audiobooks.

*waves good-bye* TTYL.

11 thoughts on “First FO of 2016

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday! What are you reading? – Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

