Signing Up

Annyeong haseyo. How’re you today on this Saturday?

I currently am trying keep my peepers open. Our ga-jok has been forcing ourselves to go to bed earlier to wake up earlier. Going back to the grind on Monday will be difficult.

However, our bellies are satiated after a hearty lunch at BJ’s Restaurant & Brewhouse in San Bruno. We celebrated my mum’s birthday, who’s a New Year’s Eve baby. I had my usual mojito and got to try some Malbec from Argentina; my brother is a big fan of red. Me, not being a big wine drinker thought it was real smooth.

It was also fun to see my three year old niece try calamari for the first time. My brother told me they’re slowly trying to expand her little palette. Pls send positive, healing energy to my one year old nephew who is suffering from another cold of congestion and cough. He’s had like five colds last year and of course his sleep is affected besides his disposition. Despite his mercurial mood, it was fun to watch him do his wiggle and squawk to let my SIL know he was done with the puff in his mouth and wanted another. Oh, the funny acts of a little one. I forget those sometimes. On an added note, during Christmas Eve I got to witness him grabbing his mother’s arm to hurry up the delivery of soft, pumpkin bread to his little mouth. It was hilarious.

Just a quick post today to officially sign up for the following reading challenges:

  1. 2016 Audiobook Challenge hosted by The Book Nympho & Hot Listens – I’m going for Weekend Warrior status (5-10) since I listen to an audiobook while knitting.
  2. Foodies Read 2016 hosted by Based on a True Story – I’m keepin’ it real and having low expectations of myself as I only sprinkle a chef’s memoir time to time throughout my reading. Short-Order Cook (1-3) is the status I’ll be working toward.
  3. And while reading my Bloglovin’ feed, Kristin of Always with a Book mentioned an eBook challenge that’s right up my alley. This 2016 eBook Challenge is hosted by Annette’s Book Spot. Since Kindle format is my usual thing, I think I can fulfill the Gigabytes status (50).

BTW, did I mention the four of us arrived at the mall before the lunch reservation so we killed time at Barnes & Noble? You know the dames and I found some books to add to our shelves right away! The husband (๑′ᴗ‵๑)I Lᵒᵛᵉᵧₒᵤ♥ didn’t protest.

Before I sign off, kamsa hamnida for all of your pleasant visits the past couple of posts. I savored your caring comments on the Christmas gifts I had knitted and I enjoy reading what book you started off your 2016 with. I’ve added some of your reads to my GR TBR. The husband calls me a nerd when he sees me poring over reviews and adding new novels to my list.

Enjoy the rest of your Saturday. Annyeong kaseyo!

9 thoughts on “Signing Up

  1. I hope your nephew is feeling better. I’m glad to have you joining us for the audiobook challenge. I think listening while knitting is a great idea. I listen while doing other tasks all the time. I know there are other knits who are doing the challenge too. I hope you find some great listens. Happy 2016!

    Melanie @ Hot Listens

    Like

  2. Happy New Year!

    Aw your poor nephew! I hope he is feeling better.

    Happy Birthday to your mom! What a fun birthday to have! I was just reading yesterday about twins who were born this New Years Eve – one was born at 11:59 pm on Dec. 31st, while the second twin was born at 12:02 am on Jan. 1st. These twins have completely different birthdays in two different years!

    I love foodie kids! How adventurous of your niece – I didn’t try calamari until I was an adult. Kudos to your brother and his wife!

    Like

  3. I have a feeling you are going to crush the book challenges! I am aiming for 52 books and if I can ever learn to knit and read at the same time I bet I can do it.
    Saying prayers for your little nephew, poor dear.
    I Love B&N!

    Like

  4. I loved reading your post, Stefanie, and hope your nephew is feeling MUCH better. Calamari has got to help, as it’s so delicious. Truly! I’ll be joining in on the Foodies Read Challenge.

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

