First Book of the Year 2016

1st bk

Good morning on this first day of a brand new, fresh year. I’m linking up with Shelia of Book Journey who hosts this annual meme every year. If you’d like to join in, it’s not too late.

As I’ve posted before, for 2016 I wanted to read a book by an author whose work I haven’t read before. I had a few books in mind but realized one night that they may already have been checked out and so it was too late to put a hold on one. After another perusal of my wish list on Overdrive, I was drawn to one particular book. But unfortunately, I didn’t check it out right then as it was snapped up when I checked back.

So back to the drawing board in which instinct had me select this Kindle book:

IMG_5137

I’m excited to start off 2016 with a new author and her 2009 work of a family saga about custom wedding shoes.

BTW, what have you set as your reading goal for this year? For my Goodreads 2016 Reading Challenge, I challenge myself to read 101 books.

May your day be filled with the written word and nom nom nom.

27 thoughts on “First Book of the Year 2016

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book by this author, something new for me to read, as everyone has nothing but good things to say about her books. I hope you have a Happy Reading Year in 2016.

    Like

  2. I read Very Valentine and liked it, but like the Big Stone Gap books better than her later ones. Happy New Year! I was hoping to discover many new-to-me blogs through Sheila’s First Book of 2016 and I have been!

    Like

  3. I have liked most of this author’s books. Hope you like this one. Happy 2016 Reading to you! And happy knitting too! I need to pick a number of books for 2016. I don’t know that I could do 100 tho.

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

