It’s Monday! What are you reading?

With this first wave of the holidays, I feel like I’ve been storing up for winter. Our family had a cozy Thanksgiving at my parents’ where it was all about gettin’ our grub on from the early afternoon to night. Here’s a glance at the main players of Thursday:

My mum roasted a 19 lb turkey while I was in charge of stuffing and potatoes. When I was planning on a meatless casserole of stuffing, the husband vocalized how there had to be chestnuts. So after going back on Pinterest, I found Giada de Laurentiis’ Ciabatta Stuffing with Pancetta and Chestnuts. It was delicious and I liked how the pancetta was a secondary player to the turkey star.

I also tried out a new recipe for mashed potatoes. I usually make the typical, white potato, but this year, a recipe caught my eye on Pinterest: Mashed Sweet Potatoes with Carmelized Onions, Brie, and Sage. I have never been much of a fan of the sweet potato until Trader Joe’s started making in it fries form. So I decided to branch out and boy, was I nor the family not disappointed.

What was your favorite dish on Thursday?

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

So for Monday’s book post, I choose to split it into two posts for today and tomorrow. Sometimes I feel I shove everything in for such a post.

AUDIOBOOKS

Can I say how convenient audiobooks are? And to find them YouTube? I like having this option. I figure the ones I pick to listen to are books I wouldn’t feel motivated to read otherwise with a hard copy. I can knit away on Christmas gifts with this form.

#1: Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing by Judy Blume

4thgrnothing

Living with his little brother, Fudge, makes Peter Hatcher feel like a fourth grade nothing. Whether Fudge is throwing a temper tantrum in a shoe store, smearing smashed potatoes on walls at Hamburger Heaven, or scribbling all over Peter’s homework, he’s never far from trouble. He’s a two-year-old terror who gets away with everything—and Peter’s had enough. When Fudge walks off with Dribble, Peter’s pet turtle, it’s the last straw. Peter has put up with Fudge too long. How can he get his parents to pay attention to him for a change?

It has certainly been a long time since I’ve read a classic Judy Blume. I have forgotten her talented writing. I love authentic, entertaining portrayals of kids. Having worked with kids since I was a teenager and being a parent of two, the way toddler Fudge talks and his funny antics brought back memories. While part of the story is how typical parents handle toddler shenanigans and a firstborn who feels overlooked, there is a solid depiction of a siblings’ relationship. Four stars; bravo, Judy Blume!

#2: The BFG by Roald Dahl

BFG

Giants are known for eating children. So when Sophie is snatched from her bed by the BFG, she fears for her life. But luckily he is far more jumbly than his disgusting neighbours. They become good friends and cook up a plan to rid the world of bad giants.

I found this audiobook on YouTube; it’s read by the actor, Geoffrey Palmer. I’ll be honest here: I thought it was a bit of a snooze in the beginning while the characters were being set up. Not finishing it was considered. However, it picked up in action with the entrance of the other crazy giants. I got hooked. I fell in love with how the BFG talked. There is certainly kid humor in this book that made me laugh. Four stars!

#3: Mary Poppins (Mary Poppins #1) by P.L. Travers

marypoppins

Mary Poppins is like no other nanny the four Banks children have ever seen. She whirls into their home and “spit-spot,” she works her inimitable brand of magic to make even the bland seem extraordinary. An endless source of fascinating adventure, she slides up the banister, produces an array of tricks from her seemingly empty carpetbag, and ensures the Banks’ lives will never be the same.

The narrator, Sophie Thompson, does a good job with different voices for Mary Poppins. It was hard to not keep the movie flashing scenes in my head as I listened to the audio. Disney certainly “Hollywoodized” the book as in the book, Mary has more of a stiff upper lip and some of the chapter adventures were not as grand as the movie’s. However, there were other jaunts of interest that I never heard of before and they were quite entertaining. Three stars.

Before I sign off, I’d like the flash the TBR piles of my tween and the 8 year old. I’m so proud of how they’re such strong readers. This is last Friday’s library haul:

Princess Jellybean, the mama’s baby girl, is currently reading the Sparkle Spa series – #4 True Colors – by Jill Santopolo.

Princess Cupcake, the honor roll student, is reading several books at once: Cleared for Takeoff (Libby Porter, First Daughter #3) by Julia DeVillers, Digital Disaster! (Dear Know-It-All #6) by Rachel Wise, Cleopatra VII: Daughter of the Nile – 57 B.C. (The Royal Diaries) by Kristiana Gregory, and Rapunzel Cuts Loose (Grimmtastic Girls #4) by Joan Holub.

I hope you had a lovely week with loved ones and your belly is still purring from the oink fest. No doubt we are all zombies today, yeah? But can you believe now there’s three weeks until Christmas? Eek! Still so much to do.

I’ll be back tomorrow chattin’ about the books I’ve finished. Until then, Have a solid reading week.

19 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. The food you shared looks amazing – making me hungry!! I hope you had a lovely thanksgiving.

    I love Roald Dahl reads, even now as an adult! I can’t wait till my little one is old enough to share them with. Also, your children are total bookworms – that library loot!

    Happy reading!

    Like

  2. That is awesome reading for everyone…as a former teacher…I loved when my students checked out big stacks of books and actually read them!

    Your dinner looks and sounds delicious. My favorite part of our dinner was the turkey because someone else roasted it for us!

    Like

  3. Those sweet potatoes sound heavenly! I love seeing your daughters’ reading piles! Great selections all around. Has Princess Cupcake tried the Sisters Grimm series by Michael Buckley? She reads a lot like my daughter did at that age and they were her favorites. Love your reading selections! I love audiobooks and I do find that I have an easier time tackling certain books in audio format than I would reading them.

    Like

  4. wow look at all those books.. things have been a bit crazy. I have a book on my nightstand waiting to be read. but D and I have been reading a Thanksgiving themed Tree House Book.

    mm all that food looks great.. it being just two adults we went with an nontraditional Thanksgiving.. lamb chops and baked potatoes.

    Like

  5. Just when I thought I was tiring of leftovers, your post made me hungry again! Seriously though, yeah Thanksgiving is awesome. My favorite this year was the stuffing, it was so good, and with gravy on it- I could eat that all day. 🙂

    Love those TBR stacks- that’s some serious reading. Nice when kids are readers. 🙂

    Like

  6. the potatoes sound interesting. My dad made his with kale and many many people were not happy about that. I thought it was “okay”. I’m trying to finish reading a book today, let’s see if I succeed!!

    Like

  7. All those dishes look and sound yummy. Family get-to-gethers at my parents’ house always centred around food. Mum fed us like there was no tomorrow!

    Great to see your kids are readers. Very impressive book stacks. Enjoy your week.

    Like

  8. All the books! How awesome!! I love it when kids love to read. Before Wyatt came along, I was in charge of an elementary school library – I loved that too! 🙂

    I loved Judy Blume growing up- I should revisit her work.

    I am glad you had such a wonderful holiday – it looks like it was delicious!

    Like

  9. Audiobooks are great! I used to listen to them when I commute to and from work. But since I’m working at home now, I haven’t listened to any. I once finished 16 audiobooks in a month!

    That’s a great haul! So glad your kids are strong readers. That’s what I want for my kids in the future, if I’d have any. 😀

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

