It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Annyeong haseyo. How was your weekend?

Ours was low-key as usual. My parents came down for dinner Saturday because I wanted them to try Balsamic Beer Braised Pork Roast; I’ve posted about it here before. My mum always brings us treats. That afternoon she proudly gifted us these:

IMG_4788Our crew loves these new pillows for our Caribbean Blue couch. My parents went to a fabric store in Maui on their last island jaunt so this tribal honu material caught my mum’s eye and my dad had given his approval of this particular design over other selections. She handmade these pillow covers herself, figuring out her own pattern. Ain’t me mum clever and talented?

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

How was your reading progress over the week?

Princess Cupcake recently told me she finished all 16 library books and is now halfway through The Witchy Worries of Abbie Adams by Rhonda Hayter. Princess Jellybean has gone through 13 of her library stack and is now reading Okay, So Maybe I Do Have Superpowers (Dear Dumb Diary #11) by Jim Benton.

As for myself, I am happy to report that I’ve been getting in what I call snuggly reading!

Having recently blogged about the #PotterBinge created by The Estella Society, I have been making happy headway through the first installment of Harry Potter. potterI love owning the Kindle version as  I can snuggle up under the pile of blankets and read in the dark on my Paperwhite. While it’s been a while since I’ve read this series, it delights me to see the little illustrations that start each chapter. One of them I actually had to get more into the chapter before figuring out who it was as I had forgotten. And can I say reading every word is like visiting an old friend, a guaranteed comfort? The magic has not gone away for me at all.

I have had a small and slow-growing interest in poetry. I’m the type of person who has to talk out loud through my feelings to get through stress, anger, or hurt. Poetry seems to me a way to creatively express such thoughts, a place I’d like to explore.

FrostInspired, I also checked out this Kindle book, Frost: Poems by Robert Frost. I have always liked the quotes of his I have seen in Google searches. I like how Mother Nature is mostly his muse.

I am only about a quarter the way through right now.

What new genre have you tried out recently? Are you a fan of poetry? If so, got any poets to recommend?

 

24 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. I love those pillows! New pillows can change up the whole look of a room. Enjoy!

    My reading has mostly been psychological thrillers, legal thrillers, and just plain murder mysteries. I also enjoy books about family drama…and the occasional memoir.

    I have never gotten into Harry Potter, but I do love the illustrations and enjoyed some of the movies. Have a great week! Here are MY WEEKLY UPDATES

    Like

  2. The pillows are gorgeous and I love the colors with the couch! I’ve been thinking about rereading the first Harry Potter. I loved that one with the humor and magic and emotions. It was just a fantastic book. I’m a big fan of my paperwhite as well. I stay up later than my husband a pretty good bit and it’s nice to be able to read at night without having to turn lights on and stuff.

    Like

  3. The pillows look lovely and really compliment your sofa – your mum is one crafty lady making those on her own.

    I’ve been rereading Harry Potter for a couple of months now in between other reads (hence why it’s taking so long) and it definitely is snuggly reading. As the months are drawing in colder here I’ve been gravitating more and more towards them.

    Happy reading!

    Like

  4. Those pillows are great!

    I really need to revisit Harry Potter. It has been way too long since I have read that series and I really loved it. 🙂

    I do really enjoy poetry – I think one of my favorite poets to read is T.S. Eliot – The Lovesong of J. Alfred Prufrock is one of my all-time favorite poems. 🙂

    My husband’s family is Hawaiian on his mother’s side – his grandmother and family were from Molokai, I believe. My husband’s mom was born in Japan though – his grandma married an Army man and they ended up living all over the world, where he was stationed. Hawaii is on our list of places to visit one day!

    Like

  5. OMG those cushions are downright gorgeous. Your mother is definitely skilled and clever and very kind. I’m not bit into poetry, I blame my enforced having to do speech/drama exams year after year. I did buy a book of poems collated by Caroline Kennedy and occasionally dip in.

    Like

  6. I really do love your new pillows, they have turtles, which in my book makes them extra special!
    I have never read the Harry Potter Books or seen a full movie, but my guys loved them, in fact I think
    my Alex read the books several times as did one of my sisters. I have read Robert Frost, he’s a favorite.
    I am slowly making my way through Station Eleven, a totally different read for me.

    Like

  7. Love the pillows! That is such a different color for me! Everything I own downstairs is red or green or red and green! Against a white back ground!

    Like

  8. Those pillows are gorgeous and your mum is very clever indeed. I wish I could whip up things like that for my home! Have a great week and happy reading 🙂

    Like

  9. I haven’t read poetry since high school, but I wish I did. There is so much out there I’m missing, I’m sure. I’m reading a lot more mysteries and have even picked up cozy mysteries lately, which is something I never read.

    I like those pillows too.

    Like

  10. Love those pillows!

    I plan to do Nonfiction November, if I can ever get going this month, and just focus on nonfiction.

    readerbuzz.blogspot.com

    Like

  11. That couch is gorgeous, but those pillows are to die for! Way to go to your Mom!

    Oh, HP is the ultimate comfort read. I haven’t committed to the readalong yet, but I will most likely cave. It has been too long since I have read any of the books.

    Like

  12. Love, love that fabric on the pillows. Just perfect with your couch, and your mum is clever to have made them.

    Check out anything where Jane Hirschfield, the poet, is featured. She has several collections under net own name, and she is often printed on The Writer’s Almanac.

    Like

  13. love those pillows!! I’m reading all the light we cannot see and haven’t had much time to read these past few days. Today is a new day and I hope to get some time. I’ve read all of HP twice through 🙂 and I could read it all through again and again.

    Like

  14. The pillows are beautiful and a perfect match!

    This quote: “reading every word is like visiting an old friend, a guaranteed comfort? The magic has not gone away for me at all.” says it all. 🙂

    We do a lot of Harry Potter, I think I might need a knit-a-thon to Lord of the rings …

    Like

  15. I’m going to search your blog and see if I can find that recipe for Balsamic Beer Braised Pork Roast… it sounds delicious! Poetry has been more appealing to me lately, too…. especially anthologies where I get to sample different forms and styles.

    Like

  16. If I’m reading poetry, I tend to go to go to Mary Oliver. I love her poems.

    I’m hoping to read Harry Potter with my son. It will be a re-read for me, but the first time for him!

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

