NaKniSweMo 2015

As I greet you this Wednesday afternoon, I shiver even though I’m wearing a cotton sweater over chambray. Since November started, there has been a bite in the air especially after Monday’s half day of rain. Mornings are in the mid-40’s, making us want to bury deeper under the covers once the alarm goes off. The breeze is also making her presence known, blowin’ like a diva sashayin’ her way down the sidewalk and making leaves scatter.

Some of you may be scratching your head, especially nonknitters. What is NaKniSweMo? #nakniswemo2015 stands for National Knit a Sweater Month. I had come across it during some Googling recently and knew immediately I had an excuse to cast on a garment!

With STITCHES West 2016 coming up, I recalled it was a bit warm in late February. A NaKniSweMo sweater may make me warm so in truth, I don’t want to be feeling uncomfortable while I’m making my way up and down the aisles in the marketplace.

My mum had suggested a vest but I wasn’t feelin’ any of the designs on Rav. As a compromise, I then thought of a cardigan and found Harvest by TinCanKnits. It’s a simple top-down raglan knit. I already know they write terrific, easy-to-understand patterns so I was sold.

I wound up the first skein of yarn:

IMG_4784

This is Miss Babs Yowza – Whatta Skein! in Completely Lovely. It’s like a dark pink with scatterings of lighter pinks and even a streak of cantaloupe peeking out once in a blue moon. I tried several times to take the right photo that would represent the true colors of this yarn cake. I finally thought to take it outside which worked perfectly.

Well, I planned to leave you hungry by flashing what my kitchen’s been cranking out. However, I have two dames raring to go outside and ride like the wind. So you’ll be spared tummy-induced rumblings.

Toot-a-loo!

#post 100

10 thoughts on “NaKniSweMo 2015

  1. I had dreams to make a sweater in November……but since I started a sweater a few months ago and haven’t even made it to the spot where I put the sleeve stitches on holders yet, I don’t think I could knit an entire sweater in November. Soooooo…….someday.

    Like

  2. Pingback: 2016 Word of the Year | Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

