Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-Thon: Introduction

Dewey

It’s 7:51 a.m. here. The rest of the crew is catching up on their zzz’s. I woke up around 6; sorry it was too hard to get up at 5. Keepin’ it real as always.

Me & the Ohana

I’m Stefanie, BTW. Many of you know me as Kepanie, which is the Hawaiian form of Stefanie. It was only some time ago that I had found the direct translation of my name as most ppl assume my name is spelled with a “ph” which always has me correcting them. I’m not Hawaiian but San Francisco born and bred as stated on my About Me page. My family is a big fan of the islands; we used to visit my aunty and uncle as much as we could. Ah, the memories: Crashing out at their place, BBQs of nori wrapped spinach and leg of lamb, hitting all the major shopping spots, and swimming in the neighbor’s pool.

My crew recently moved further south in the Bay Area. Homes are very expensive in the city. Our daughters wanted their own rooms and a backyard to play in. Even if we could afford a house in SF, the husband was commuting 50 miles to and fro for nine and a half years. It was too much wear and tear upon him. I felt ready for a change and was finally ready to move away.

So the four of us are enjoying a warmer climate, a smaller + laidback community where everything is close by, and a cul-de-sac where there are finally kids around my kids’ ages and where they can play safely for hours. We seriously love it here. It was the best decision for our family.

I’m still a SAHM who knits, runs, blogs, and cooks. Speaking of cooking, the tween hosted her first, new friend playdate yesterday.:

IMG_4697

I’ve been hearing so much about this friend that I wanted to meet and get to know her. The gals were starving of course after school; don’t they always? So I made a bunch of quesadillas in different cheeses.

IMG_4612

I know I am very blessed to be able to stay home and man the front and the back of the house. I love being here for my dames. I felt proud to cook for them and our guest; I have fond memories of mum cooking for me and my peeps, who repeatedly lauded her cooking. I feel like I’m walkin’ in my mum’s shoes a bit.

Books

Yesterday I ran out to the library after an unsuccessful trip to the used bookstore the afternoon before. I went to park early. I was gunnin’ to get my search on because the library had a change of schedule Friday and pick up was soon. When the doors opened, I put my early, shopping training to work.

On a tangent…

When I was young, my mum and her sisters would take my cousin and I shopping. They trained us to walk fast besides be professional guards of the loot.

Back to the stack….

IMG_4700

I just finished reading The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan. This book was picked up about a fortnight ago during an after school jaunt to the library. I had read the installment before half a year ago so I had to reorient myself when I started this fifth book. I was not disappointed. I’m a big fan of Greek mythology, stemming from a class I had taken in high school. I can’t really remember anything from back then; I’ll have to ask my BFF and share it with you later.

I’m looking forward to reading Bitter Greens by Kate Forsyth. It’s a twist on the fairy tale of Rapunzel. I have enjoyed fairy tales since I was a child because my mum used to read these old fairy tale compilations to me which have been passed onto me.

I know I have a modest stack. I wanted to be realistic because I’m still the cook on deck and honestly, I’m tired from a semi-good night’s rest. If I finish these two books here, I can always download a Kindle book.

As for snackie snacks which I know most of those who are participating have stocked up on, I’m gonna fly by the seat of my pants. Okay, off to read. TTYL.

2 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-Thon: Introduction

  1. loved reading a bit about you. I was a SAHM and am now retired from that ha ha ha. I loved it and I enjoyed our lifestyle so much. I now miss them at times and feel lost but I guess that is what empty nest is all about. have fun!!

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

