Food. Written Word. Travel.

What kind of book are you reading right now?

I’m finishing up two eBooks: One is historical fiction and the other is young adult fiction. While I’m enjoying Susanna Kearsley’s Firebird and Gordon Korman’s One False Note (The 39 Clues Series, Book 2), I’ve been in the mood for more memoirs.

After reading Eat. Pray. Love. and Geisha, A Life years ago, it’s been hard to find nonfiction that would interest me. Then this year, it struck me how much I love food and reading plots that have descriptive scenes of cooking. Past books that made my mouth water are these:

Delicious! by Ruth Reichl

Bread Alone by Judi Hendricks.

Licking the Spoon: A Memoir of Food, Family, and Identity by Candace Walsh

Also, I was reminded of how I’d like to travel across the pond one of these days. This led me to read this book: Without Reservations: The Travels of an Independent Woman by Alice Steinbach

Lately, I’ve had an appetite to combine food, the written word, and travel. This is what our library has on Overdrive:

memoir eBooks

I have seven other titles added on my TBR:

Apricots on the Nile: A Memoir with Recipes

Ant Egg Soup: The Adventures of a Food Tourist in Laos

Sushi and Beyond: One Family’s Remarkable Journey Through the Greatest Food Nation on Earth

Consuming Passions: A Food-Obsessed Life

Shucked: Life on a New England Oyster Farm

Beyond the Pasta: Recipes, Language, and Life with an Italian Family

Garlic and Sapphires: The Secret Life of a Critic in Disguise.

I will either have to order the paperback or the Kindle version from Amazon.

Are you into memoirs? If so, what have you read?

7 thoughts on “Food. Written Word. Travel.

  1. Currently, I’ve still got The Hobbit going. Once I finish that, it’s going to be the rest of the LOTR series. Then I think I’ll have to switch gears for a bit. I’ve got quite a list of things to read…but not the time I’d like to dedicate to reading. So, it’s slow going. It took me a month to read The Art of Asking by Amanda Palmer. The Hobbit is taking much longer than it should, but mostly because I’ve been knitting instead of reading 🙂

    I do have some books coming from Amazon, however. I may put off reading The Hobbit to read some of these other books first. Or not. We’ll see how things go.

    Like

  2. I love foodie memoirs as well and you’ve got a couple that I have on my list and a few I need to add. I did read Garlic and Sapphires awhile back and really enjoyed it. I had loved her first book, was kind of meh on the 2nd but thought the 3rd was really interesting. Hopefully you enjoy it as well! Now I need to go look for Lick the Spoon and Apricots on the Nile!

    Like

  3. I’ve been reading a lot of YA romantic fiction lately, mainly anything by Stephanie Perkins. Great beach reads because they are quick and fun. A couple of my favorite food related novels include The Hundred Foot Journey (also a fun movie) and The Joy Luck Club.

    Like

  4. I’ve been reading short stories on my kindle app on my phone lately but I’ve just started a Terry Pratchet book my Dad lent me. I’d much rather be reading than knitting at the moment, too hot lol

    Like

  5. I don’t have anything in particular that I am reading now – I am avoiding the book group selection for this month, and so am not reading anything else either. Sigh. But I did read a book a while ago that might interest you – Slow Travel by Martha Barrett (I think…). She and her partner sell their house and pick a different spot to go live each winter. It is an interesting concept. Kind of scary, but fun, too.

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

