Belly Happy

Meet the entree that made our bellies happy yesterday:

IMG_4080

 

I used chicken thighs instead. It almost reminded me of a chicken fried steak.

I do have to comment that it was hard to press the shredded, cheddar cheese into each thigh. This woman does like her cheese. I’m going to try using my little Kitchen Aid Food Processor to get the cheese finer. And I think I’ll use eggs as my wet base; milk did not cut it.

Oh, and I haven’t bought Cream of Chicken Soup for quite some time, especially after hearing how it doesn’t particularly have healthy contents. So I found this recipe on Pinterest as a healthy substitute! OMGosh, it is good. Above is a polite sprinkling of sauce. After I took that photo, my chicken thigh and rice scoops were smothered in it.

If you eat chicken, what is your hands down favorite recipe?

9 thoughts on “Belly Happy

  1. That is just like making a roux I believe. We use that base, but add more milk to it, some tuna and peas. Make some toast and spoon the cream gravy over the top. Yum! It is also the base for SOS, aka, chipped beef on toast. Also YUM in my book :).

    Like

  2. Yours sounds yummy, and I have tried that, with bread crumbs on top and baked. Kinda messy, agreed.

    Cooks.com has this recipe, sorry no link on the iPad, but this is good, too.

    CHICKEN CURRY (MURGH MASALA)
    8 pieces chicken, skinless
    2 onions
    4 cloves garlic
    1/2 tsp. ginger
    1/2 c. yogurt
    1 tsp. coriander powder
    2 tbsp. curry powder
    1 tsp. cumin powder
    2 finely cut tomatoes
    Salt and green pepper to taste
    Parsley to garnish
    Puree onions, garlic and ginger together. In a large skillet add 1 spoon oil and brown the pureed onion paste. Stir for 8 to 10 minutes on medium fire. Now add the chicken and cover it with tomatoes, yogurt, salt, pepper and the spices. Cover the skillet and let it simmer for 15 minutes. Stir the chicken for all the spices to blend in. Cover and let it simmer on low fire for further 10 minutes. Now serve hot and garnish with parsley (fresh). Serve with white rice and garden salad.
    Serves 6-8.

    Like

  3. I’m all about breaded chicken and I love thighs. I will tell you a secret. I know it’s not good for you, but sometimes when i feel a little sad on the inside, cream of chicken soup makes me feel better. It’s on my list of things that hug you from the inside. xoxo

    Like

  4. I will have to prepare your recipe for my guys, they will love it.
    As for the wet part, when I cook fried chicken I soak the chicken in buttermilk and egg before coating it with flour, works every time. 🙂

    Like

  5. Despite not being hungry before visiting your blog, I always come away hungry! Thank you for sharing the recipe for the chicken soup substitute!

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

