Sentences

I am currently eight books ahead of schedule in my 2015 Reading Challenge as I’ve read 40 of 75 books so far.

The past, three eBooks I’ve read have had some strong sentences that were either wise or that were examples of good writing:

Blackberry Summer (Hope’s Crossing Book 1) by RaeAnne Thayne

“For the first time, she realized that much of the impact these little gestures had on the recipient came not so much from the tangible gift as from the act of giving itself, the idea that someone had invested time and energy and thought into meeting a need without expectation of even a thank you” [Page 137].

“…fear and courage are like thunder and lightning. They start out at the same time, it’s just that the fear always hits first. If we wait long enough, the courage we need will be along soon” [Page 373].

Licking the Spoon: A Memoir of Food, Family, and Identity by Candace Walsh

“It’s the kind of recipe that makes people moo with pleasure. It involves layering toasted, buttered baguette slices with Emmental cheese, tomato puree, and caramelized onions in a five-and-a-half quart Dutch oven” [Prologue, Local 156].

As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust: A Flavia de Luce Novel by Alan Bradley

“I don’t think that I shall ever forget, as long as I live, the sounds of Miss Bodycote’s Female Academy coming to life in the morning. First would come the clanking of the pipes and steam radiators, sounding for all the world like armored knights having a practice joust with playful young dragons, who gurgled and…more to show off than anything else” [Loc 1411].

What book that you’ve read has had some clever writing?

7 thoughts on “Sentences

  1. Barbara Kingsolver is a word smith. Re read some of her books. Prodigal Summer was one I just finished and she has a way with words that makes one ponder.

    Like

  2. You would likebarbarakingsolver’s writing. Just finished Prodigal Summer and each paragraph is a jewel of prose. Think you would like re reading her again.

    Like

  3. I weirdly don’t pay too much attention to writing but I love the passages you’ve chosen. I read a RaeAnn Thayne around Christmas time and absolutely loved it and have been wanting to read more of her books. Licking the Spoon sounds like my kind of book and that recipe sounds amazing! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  4. I love the fear and courage sentence. What a clever analogy. I recently read Me Before You by Jojo Moyes and was so enchanted by her writing style. The book is about a controversial and sad subject and there were so many parts that had me bawling like a baby. But then I was laughing out loud at many other parts, too. I also enjoy reading anything by Rainbow Rowell.

    Like

  5. I recently read Helen MacDonald’s H is for Hawk. While I didn’t particularly enjoy the subject matter of the book, I did find her writing to be exceptional. Her descriptions of the countryside made me think I was there with her, seeing and feeling it.

    Like

  6. I’m reading Joy of Man’s Desiring by Jean Giono and it has the most spectacular prose. One line that has particular struck me today … moors buttered with sunlight … when I am up on the moor on a sunny day I think that’s how I’ll always described it to myself now.

    Like

  7. I really love the quote: “fear and courage are like thunder and lightning. They start out at the same time, it’s just that the fear always hits first. If we wait long enough, the courage we need will be along soon” one worth remembering!

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

