Leather, Lace, Grit & Grace

Happy Mother’s Day! Today is about celebrating the strong women who have often put others before themselves to nurture dreams and talents, and to kiss and hug away the hurts. I took my mum out earlier in the week:

IMG_20150505_105914

for tea. We enjoyed immensely the savory and the sweet + specialty teas of Crown & Crumpet.

While we’re celebrating women this Sunday, this post is befitting because I bring you to the last stop on Denise of Voie de Vie’s blog tour of her newest eBook – Leather, Lace, Grit, & Grace!

In her words from her May 2nd post, “This book is a little (ok, well maybe a lot!) like my child – I have put so much effort and heart and soul into it.

This rang in my head as I perused through Leather, Lace, Grit, & Grace. There are seventeen patterns (three knitting, the rest crochet) in this labor of love. I was wonderfully surprised by its theme of flight. Each pattern is preceded by a short bibliography of a woman who made a contribution to the world of aviation. For example, I was honored to learn about Susan Koerner Wright, the mum of Wilbur and Orville Wright and who passed on the love of tinkering of mechanical parts to her sons, something she herself had picked up in her father’s carriage shop.

I have three ultimate favorites of Denise’s work. First off, you know hair accessories and me always rub elbows.

(pics courtesy of Denise)

#1: Markham Headband

IMG_8446a

This headband was inspired by Beryl Markham, known as a nonconformist and known as the first female pilot to fly across the Atlantic Ocean from east to west. During her socialite days, she’d be all dolled up from head to toe. This is Denise’s fiber take on a tiara where she used Louise Harding beaded yarn.

I love the sparkle from the beads and the lacey stitch pattern. What fiber enthusiast would pass up the chance of having the excuse to buy fun and glitzy yarn, yarn most of us would normally pass on because we mostly wear our FO’s during the day? I know I’d love the excuse of wearing bling bling on a daily basis!

#2: Cochran Puffy V Shoulder Warmer

IMG_8696

We all like to look good in our yarny FO’s. When I saw this shoulder warmer, I had to know about it! This was inspired by the time period pilot Jacqueline Cochran had the most influence on the world. The texture is modern and can be worn by anyone. And can you imagine the possibilities of color? Don’t you love a project that can be tailored to your preferences? I am all over those leather fastenings! They have a rock glam vibe that is up my alley.

#3: Leather + Lace Aviatrix Cap

IMG_8598a - Gwen cap 1

Save the best for last is what I think of whenever I see this pattern. I love this modern take on the shape and style of the aviatrix cap that was worn during an Air Derby in 1929 by female pilots. The lace pattern is feminine but still provides warmth. I love the thought of being able to use cute, little leather buttons like the model’s. This cap looks unique from ear flap hat patterns out there. It could be custom made to your personality and style.

So there you have it. A peek at Leather, Lace, Grit, & Grace. If you’d like to see all of the patterns on Ravelry, click here.

Now wait a minute! I ain’t done yet. I know you fiber crafters don’t shy away from giveaways! Yep, you read that right…give-a-ways! Here’s how to double your chances:

1. Leave a comment on this post and somehow for us to contact you whether by Ravelry username or email address. Your comment will be put into an End-of-May Giveaway via Denise’s blog, Voie de Vie.

2. If you join her Ravelry group, Voie de Vie Group, and participate in the Spring Flingy Thingy, you can possibly win y-a-r-n!

So good luck to you and thanks for dropping by.

5 thoughts on “Leather, Lace, Grit & Grace

  1. The tea shop looks really cute! Hope you had a wonderful time with your Mom, and I hope your girls are spoiling you today! I got the cutest text message from my teenage nephew wishing me “Happy Aunt’s Day” 🙂

    Like

  2. Love the title of your post, sounds like a novel 😉
    I would love to have my name entered, I love giveaways…
    I am 1tims on Ravelry.
    I hope you had the best mother’s day!

    Like

  3. I love your new blog and the title is perfect for you! I have a couple good recipes coming up soon…like this week, that you might like too. Please sign me up for the ebook. I’m ravid saminar Those patterns rock! I have read about Beryl Markham years ago and I think I still have the book somewhere. It was a great read and what an interesting and fascinating woman.
    The tea room looks lovely and what a sweet daughter you are!
    I love learning about famous women in history since when I went to school they somehow forgot (ahem!) to include them in the history books….for shame!
    I hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day and I need to find you on Ravelry!

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

