An Exhale and a Memoir

Hi *smiles*. Thank you for your welcome back. Someone mentioned the header pic. My friend, E, gave me the idea to include more knitting paraphernalia after an initial try at my mum’s house in her dining room. With the constructive criticism I went back and used my dad’s office for a lighter, modern background. The metal needles and little doodads on the plate are actually vintage! My Yin Yin (paternal grandmother) gave me her knitting gear long ago. I showed her the pic and that got her to smile. My mum helped with the arranging of yarn to add more depth and even dug out some of her own knitting needles to stick into the yarn cakes.

Before my slow poke launch of Wooly Cakes and Wooden Spoons, I was really excited to jump out of the gate. I felt like I had ideas and had mentally lined up posts. But now, *sighs* I feel at a loss. I feel like other than cooking, I don’t have much to blog about. I think this stems from the knitting that is not going on.

You know I read your blogs just about every day. I seriously make that time to read your Blogspot and WordPress posts while I’m at the table for a meal or before I call it a night. I see so many lovely fiber projects in the works. The bright or deep colors make me smile. I marvel at the tenacity some of you have while forging through a jumper. Sock knitting is an automatic shot of happiness and also a mini cloud of envy.

I feel somewhat uninspired by my life right now as with formal, PTA duties just about over, my husband and I have been concentrating on getting the house ready for the upcoming move in. I have this cute, little notebook I picked up from Target some time ago. I think I need to start utilizing it, don’t you?

With all of this on my mind of late, funny enough, I was struck by a little inspiration while waiting for Nordstrom to open its doors. I’m not going to make a scheduled habit of it, just only when I think the read’s significant in its own way.

As you know, I’m on Goodreads. I joined to keep track of what I read, to be exposed to new authors, and see + be inspired by what friends were reading. I’ve honestly gotten cheap with books after only sticking to authors I knew and hated being stuck with a book I did not enjoy. I mostly read Kindle books from the library. Love that organized library system!

This year I joined the Goodreads Reading Challenge. My goal is 75 books. I’ve read 33 so far – way ahead of schedule in regards to pacing!

My current read is Without Reservations: The Travels of an Independent Woman by Alice Steinbach. It’s nonfiction, a memoir. She worked for the Baltimore Sun for many years and now is a Woodrow Wilson Visiting Fellow.

alice

(image via Goodreads)

I have had this eBook on my TBR since June 28, 2012. I’ve only read two memoirs ever: Eat, Pray, Love and Geisha, A Life. This time, I really needed a change from the usual genres I’ve been reading. I was in the mood to read about food and about a setting that I would enjoy.

As you know we just bought a house so no holidays any time soon. It is a dream of mine to go across the pond to Paris, London, and Ireland. The author traveled to Paris, Oxford, and Italy in the late 90’s but I love reading about her daily explorations of Paris, the section I’m on right now, and the people she encounters.

On my Kindle Paperwhite, I can look up words anytime. I’m tempted to look up places she mentions but at the same time I hate interrupting the flow of my reading. When you read do you look up words you don’t know the definition to and/or do you look up places/things to see what they look like?

3 thoughts on “An Exhale and a Memoir

  1. I often look up quotes, places, or things that are unfamiliar to me. I think it stems from the desire to know all. 🙂
    Been thinking about picking up that book. You may have just pushed it to the front of my reading queue.

    XO!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I totally get you about the blogging thing……it’s almost feeling like more of a chore than anything else. It doesn’t help that all my projects are long term, not growing very quickly, and I’ve not even been knitting that often…::sigh::

    Soon, though, soon….

    Like

  3. I think that we all go through blogger’s block, especially if you have been blogging for a long time. I am amazed at how some bloggers can post more than once or twice a week without a problem or lack of inspiration. I love your writing style so whatever you choose to write about would be an interesting read even if it’s not yarn or knitting related 🙂
    I am so behind on my book list for this year.

    Like

What (*^ _ ^*) went through your mind when you read this post?

